Roy Random: Prediction for Game of Thrones Season 5 Finale and What I Want to Watch and Read

In the Game of Thrones season 5 finale, I predict that the set-piece spectacular will be when Cersei Lannister’s creepy pet necromancer, Maester Qyburn, resurrects a Terminatorised Ser Gregor “The Mountain” Clegane to rescue her from the Sparrows.

got-2015-qyburn-mountain-and-big-syringe

Maester Qyburn administers a terrifying, but well-deserved, ear syringing to the vile Gregor Clegane.

What I want to watch in coming months, and will most probably talk about in forthcoming podcasts, include the imminent Jurassic World and, of course, Star Wars: The Force Awakens at the end of the year.

The show I am most looking forward to this year is The duchovny-vancouver-2015X-Files mini-series. Currently being filmed in Vancouver, I can’t tell you how many long, agonising years I’ve waited and suffered through poor spin-offs and average big screen adaptations. Come on Dana and Fox! Come on!

The_Black_Cauldron_posterOne outlier movie that I’d like to see, and really doesn’t fit into any of the above, is The Black Cauldron (1981). I think I came across a tangential reference to this poorly received Disney animated classic, while looking up something about the Black Science (2013) comic book series. I think I must have partially seen this movie growing up – it’s the sort of film they slap on for the kids in the holidays, but I have never sat still for a whole thing. My interest was sparked after I read that it was based on the series of novels The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander from the 1960s, which, in-turn, were based on Welsh mythology.

Which brings me on to what I want to read. The aforementioned Image Comics’ Black Science by Rick Remender and Matteo Scalera, which immediately makes me think of Space Family Robinson, but with the weird knob cranked up to 11.

black-science

I have already mentioned the books I am reading in previous podcasts, but have reached the stage that they are no longer the books I want to read. They are now the books I want to finish. Included are Andy Weir’s The Martian (2014), Austin Grossman’s You (2013), Ben Aaronovitch’s Whispers Underground (2012) and Terry Pratchett’s Raising Steam (2013). This is no reflection on the quality of the books, just my slowness in finishing them. It’s odd, but since I started writing every day, my ability to read (and I am, or rather was, a really fast reader) has diminished drastically. Though, this is also the year I started wearing reading glasses, so maybe that is a factor too. The point being that I’m finding the stuff I’m writing damn tiring to produce, but at least I’m also finding my stuff as engrossing as the work of other authors. Which brings me onto a rather disturbing topic…

wizard-of-oz-1939Having written a film script, hung around with indie movie people and media types in general and interviewed a whole bunch of people from genre entertainment, something really quite awful is happening. I’m finding it increasingly difficult to enjoy genre entertainment. Now, instead of getting lost in the story, I’m forever checking the panel layouts of comics, bad camera angles in movies, poor writing in books etc. In short, my ability suspend disbelief has taken a pounding. I’m not sure where I’m going with this post, but I suppose you could read this as a warning about what happens to the fan transitioning into a creative. Forget the staring down into the abyss, the real danger is peering behind the curtain.

This entry was posted in Books, Movies, News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Hey, you! Say something!

