RRR 85, Inc. My Redway Film Script and Other Things I'm Writing, Watching and Reading, The UK Pop Culture, Technology and Creative Podcast for the Evolved Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Nerd

redwayWriting: Redway Film Script, Author Profile, Kindle Horror Story Glassy, Rider In The Mist CYOA Game, TV: Powers, Game of Thrones, Gotham, Movies: After, Ex Machina, Kingsman: The Secret Service, Parallels, Project Almanac, Books: The Martian, Bird Box.

rrr-100x100

Download ~ Notes ~ Subscribe

captain-100x100Errata et Addendum

  1. That weird sounding, shoe-horned in, spoken episode number is because I muffed it the first time.
  2. The Martian novel was actually published in 2011.
  3.  Oscar Isaac plays creepy rich geek Nathan brilliantly.
  4. I say that I’m only planning on seeing Mad Max: Fury Road in the near future but, cash-permitting, I’d also like to see Tomorrowland.
This entry was posted in Books, Games, Movies, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to RRR 85, Inc. My Redway Film Script and Other Things I'm Writing, Watching and Reading, The UK Pop Culture, Technology and Creative Podcast for the Evolved Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Nerd

  1. Saul Garnell says:

    Agree with your assessment of Ex Machina. Just watched it on my recent flight to New Zealand. While there may be some problems with the portrayal of an AI as a flawed human, I do believe it’s one of the best attempts at this kind of story. In line with my previous comments on DD, I once again like the talking scenes a lot. If you’re going to explore what an artificial consciousness “is”, it needs to be done through dialog. High five to a director who explores humanity with intelligent discourse, and having the guts to abstain from shoveling more CGI whammies down the throat of thrill-habituated audiences.

    Like

    • roymathur says:

      Hi Saul

      A comment – thank god! c.1000 downloads/month, but sometimes it still feels like I’m talking to myself.

      I don’t have any problems with the dialogue, acting, direction, cgi or sfx, just the science. Same with Garland’s Sunshine script.

      I’ll mention what you said on today’s show.

      Thanks for listening.

      };->

      Roy

      Like

      • Saul Garnell says:

        Well from a scientific point of view, we’re still far from creating a true AI. I think public perception is that a true self aware machine is just around the corner. In truth, we are far from this reality. If you listen to things like the Brain Science Podcast, it’s clear that even the simplest of emotions is barely understood. The mechanics, that is. That’s really the problem, without understanding emotions, we will never understand how consciousness works. If that’s not clear why, I suppose we’d need to have a longer conversation 🙂

        Like

      • roymathur says:

        Hi Saul

        I think part of the problem is the attempt to emulate the human brain.

        In my opinion, we could aim to create consciousness, (not that anyone even truly knows what consciousness is), human or not, through some kind of clever algorithm that fires up emergent behaviour.

        But then there’s also the morality argument of whether we should do that in the first place.

        Will it happen? I think it is absolutely inevitable.

        };->

        Roy

        Like

Hey, you! Say something!

