Milton Keynes Collectormania: Joseph Gatt, Garret Wang, William Atherton Etc, Etc, Etc!

‎2014-05-16-out-and-about-‎collectormania-milton-keynes

Just back from Milton Keynes annual Collectormania event and, wow, they really picked the right day for it. The sun was blazing, with not even the merest possibility of rain for a change, as I pulled up in the parking lot reserved for the event at Milton Keynes Dons Stadium. I arrived there about half and hour after it opened at nine and walked around, taking in the plethora of colourful stalls mostly selling comics and collectibles.

‎2014-05-16-comic-book-vendor-‏‎collectormania-milton-keynes

I met a few excellently dressed cosplayers, including this fantastically detailed clone Storm-Trooper, who also had a rather brillo robotic sounding voice-changer and a blaster, with a wicked-cool plasma-effect:

‎2014-05-16-storm-trooper-cosplayer-collectormania-milton-keynes.jpg

I also met Rob from Manchester dressed rather nattily as Tom Baker’s Doctor Who:

‎2014-05-16-tom-baker-doctor-who-cosplayer-collectormania-milton-keynes

I spoke to the charming Joseph Gatt (Star Trek ID and GOT), who is a lot larger in real life. A LOT larger:

‎2014-05-16-joseph-gatt-‏‎collectormania-milton-keynes

I met and chatted to the debonair Mr. Garrett Wang (Star Trek Voyager) and, hey, somebody make this guy a captain! I saw William Atherton, who I remember being stun-gunned by Holly in Diehard 2. I also glimpsed Robert Betrane (Star Trek Voyager) and Tony Todd (Candy Man) and snapped Gigi Edgley, without the Farscape makeup, and the incredibly popular (you should have seen the queue) Giancarlo Esposito (Gus from Breaking Bad) as well as many others:

‎2014-05-16-garrett-wang-gigi-edgley-signing-‏‎collectormania-milton-keynes

‎2014-05-16-gigi-edgley-‏‎collectormania-milton-keynes‎2014-05-16-giancarlo-esposito-‏‎collectormania-milton-keynes

And finally, here’s a clip of me completely muffing (doh) my broadcast debut, though stay until the end to catch a glimpse of a particularly intimidating Darth Maul, with truly horrific (in a good way) contact lenses:

Funnily enough, primarily on my mind, towards the end of my little visit, was the fact that I had not yet written today’s 2000 words, so… smoke me a kipper!

This entry was posted in Movies, News, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Hey, you! Say something!

