#SciFi: Hey, Banks! Keep Writing! (#IainMBanks)

ian-banksThe unpleasant recent news about writer Iain (M.) Banks got me thinking that, although I don’t consider myself a fan, I have read an awful lot of his books. Also, it is quite astonishing that I have found it difficult to keep up with his ridiculously prodigious output when you consider how long it takes to write a book, compared to how long it takes to read one. I am willing to concede that I may be fooling myself about not being a fan (maybe), but here is a list of his fiction snarfed from Wikipedia. The emboldened entries are books that I have read and the asterisked, those that I am in the process of reading-

  • The Wasp Factory (1984)
  • Walking on Glass (1985)
  • The Bridge (1986)
  • Espedair Street (1987) – Read
  • Canal Dreams (1989) – Read
  • The Crow Road (1992) – Read (Excellent)
  • Complicity (1993) – Read (Excellent)
  • Whit (1995)
  • A Song of Stone (1997)
  • The Business (1999)
  • Dead Air (2002)
  • The Steep Approach to Garbadale (2007)
  • Transition (2009) – published in the U.S.A. as Iain M. Banks
  • Stonemouth (2012)
  • The Quarry (forthcoming 2013)
  • Consider Phlebas (1987) – Read
  • The Player of Games (1988) – Read
  • Use of Weapons (1990) – Read (Excellent)
  • Excession (1996) – Read
  • Inversions (1998) – Read
  • Look to Windward (2000) – Read
  • Matter (2008) – Read
  • Surface Detail (2010) – Reading
  • The Hydrogen Sonata (2012) – Reading
  • Against a Dark Background (1993) – Read
  • Feersum Endjinn (1994) – Read
  • The Algebraist (2004)
  • The State of the Art (1991)

use-of-weaponsThere are many great books in the above list, but for me Use of Weapons is the very pinnacle of space opera, it is Star Wars as written by John Webster, if he had been a Japanese shock-horror screen-writer with a disturbing fascination with Sven Hassel. That is a terrible metaphor, but the best I can do for the man who single-handedly reinvented grand space opera. It’s a brilliant read.

I also like Banks because there is something in his writing for everyone. For example, I once recommended The Crow Road to a girl who was not even slightly interested in science fiction. She loved it so much and droned on about the book so endlessly, that you’d have thought she discovered Banks without my help! Humph. Anyway, although I don’t see eye-to-eye with Banks about one or two things, the man can surely write. So, let’s hope he remains comfortable, happy and writing.

This entry was posted in Books, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Hey, you! Say something!

