Roy's Meandering Miscellany: Parseltongue Podcasting, Devil Driving and Cold, Cold Kent

Roy’s Rocket Radio – If you’ve been following my podcast you know that I’ve been wading through Stephen King’s 11.22.63 and Nick Harkaway’s Angelmaker and watching quite a bit of telly and movies, so I should have more to talk about pretty soon.

Parseltongue – I apologise for the intermittent sound quality of the podcasts, I’m not sure what has changed.  I do have a lisp (though it’s way cooler to call myself a Parselmouth), but it’s nowhere near as bad as you sometimes hear in the latest podcasts.  I think it’s something to do with the positioning of my iPhone, that I use to record the podcasts, and how the built-in mic handles sibilants.  I have tried a de-essing plugin for Audacity called SpitFish, but it seems to have done bugger-all to help.  What I really need is a proper external microphone on a stand with a big fluffy muffler AND a pop-shield, but that will have to wait until I have money.

Road-to-Hell – I’ve spent most of my time, since arrival, driving around which necessitates braving the stupidly organised roadworks on the south-east part of the M25. The traffic here is stuck at 50 miles per hour for 24 hours a day so that the Highways Agency can work safely for what appears to be only 5 minutes each day.  I must have spent more time taking breaks at Clackets Lane Services than actual driving.

Where – So far I have stayed at Premier Inn T5, Premier Inn Crawley Town West,  Days Inn Horley and now I am in a cottage-share in a Wingham .  In a few weeks, I should finally secure some less transient accommodation in the shape of a flat in Redhill. At least I won’t have to change my library card, because Redhill is in Surrey, as is Horley, where I spent a horrific few months last year in a dank, moth-infested dump.

That’s all for now, but I’ll leave you with the view from my bedroom window on the very rural outskirts of Wingham in deepest Kent.  It’s pretty cold here, so I’m wearing a bobble-hat.  Brrr.

view-from-bedroom-window-wingham

This entry was posted in News, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Roy's Meandering Miscellany: Parseltongue Podcasting, Devil Driving and Cold, Cold Kent

  1. Pingback: Roy’s Rocket Radio: Temporarily off Air, Please Visit Blog… | Boldly Voyaging the Multiverse!

Hey, you! Say something!

