The Last Days of… This #Blog and #Podcast. Goodbye!

the-last-days-of-pompeii

Ranty-Panties – This blog is on it’s last legs. I think I need to divide my personal life from my interest in genre and technology.  I’m pretty sure that some of my rants, both here and on Twitter, are driving off readers.

New Blog/Zine – But, like a phoenix arising, what I’m proposing is a brand new blog, with all new articles, i.e. a real, honest-to-god genre/tech ‘zine.   I don’t know if there’s a still a market any more, what with the “superblogs”/print magazines like SFX, SciFiNow, Wired, BoingBoing etc… hogging the limelight, but I’m going to be giving it a try.

Advertising – This time there will be advertising and I’m wondering whether to just start with a custom WordPress domain and WordAds (cheaper)  or go the whole hog and get another host and domain and install WordPress myself.   You see WordAds (WordPress’s version of Google’s AdWords) does not sound like it can generate as much cash as traditional advertising.  It’s not as if I want to be Rupert Murdoch (ugh), I just want to make enough money to run the site initially.  Which is why I may go for a two-pronged attack and simultaneously produce a e-zine app or pdf with the best content from the blog, but reformatted for reading on a e-reader, tablet or smartphone.   It will also allow me to include non-WordAds advertising because-

Advertising: While a blog must have a mapped domain in order to qualify for WordAds, the Domain Mapping Upgrade does not otherwise permit advertising on your blog. (See)

So WordPress custom domain or new domain and host.  That is the question…  Actually, I proposed a magazine almost a year ago, but nothing ever came of it.  No excuses- my fault entirely.

Jobs – If you want to write for the new ‘zine, hold-your-horses for now because I can’t pay you and I don’t want to offer any writers out there fake jobs.  I’ve applied to enough of those myself.  I’ll wait and see if I can make some money first with which to pay you.

RoyMathur.Wordpress.com – This blog will just become my own personal log for my thoughts and anybody who’s interested in reading them.  Think of it as the editor’s own, monstrous, editorial from hell.

Podcast – The podcast, as you can see if you have visited iTunes lately, also has a new name.  OK, it’s merely a shortened name and the good news is that I will be keeping that going too.  Strangely, people ARE actually downloading it.  Though the most popular download of mine seems to be my lecture on Harappan Civilisation.  I wonder how many homeworks this is contributing to.  Tsk, tsk, tsk.  On the subject of podcasts, I’m no expert, listen to mine and you’ll see what I mean, but I have learned quite a bit about things like getting into iTunes, formatting RSS feeds, editing sound, creating theme music etc… so if you want to start your own podcast and have any questions, just send them my way and I’ll do my best to help.  I know how difficult it can be to create your own customised, home-grown show because I got precious little help from the “community” (pah) when I started.  However, If your needs are more simple, then check out AudioBoo.

Incidentally, my next podcast is due out tomorrow. };->

…sort of….

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last Days of… This #Blog and #Podcast. Goodbye!

  1. Pingback: Editorial: ‘Zine, Roy & Tomorrow’s #Podcast: #Movies, #Comics, #Books… @BBCRecruitment @GuardianCareers | Boldly Voyaging the Multiverse!

Hey, you! Say something!

