#SciFi Ghetto: They're At It Again! #Banks #Atwood

I dooon’t belieeeve it!

They’re at it again.

This time I found Margaret Atwood’s Year of the Flood and Iain (not using the “M” as he does for his SF work) Bank’s Transition in the general fiction section of Horley Public library.  Both are clearly science fiction novels.  I pointed this out to the nice librarian, but understandably I suppose, she looked at me with a tolerant, but bemused expression like I was this totally pedantic nerd (which I am).

What the hell is wrong with the publishers, filmmakers etc…?*  I wish they would all get it through their thick heads, together with the dimwits in their marketing departments, that the “science fiction” tag is nothing to be ashamed about.  E.M. Forster, Mary Shelly, H.G. Wells, and Jules Verne all wrote SF and you could hardly call them pulp writers.

Look, either dump the whole idea of “genres” altogether, or put the damn SF books in the SF section.  Stupid, stupid John Carter of Mars.

*I swear, they are just doing this to annoy me (Roy) personally.

This entry was posted in Books, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Hey, you! Say something!

