#BBC #Journalism #Trainee #Recruitment: What Happens – Part 1 & 2 of ? #jobs

For the second year running, I have applied to the BBC’s Journalism Trainee Scheme.  I mentioned this a couple of posts ago, but I thought I’d give you an update in case you are interested in applying in future.

Application Form: Part 1 -Make sure to give yourself a few hours to do this.  Don’t do what I did, that is, discover the form at the last minute and then bang away on the keyboard like a nerd-possessed.  They ask questions that require wordy* answers and they may also ask you to watch a video of a programme segment.

Verbal Reasoning Test: Part 2 – If they bother getting back to you, the next stage is a verbal reasoning test.  Again, give yourself time.  These questions are like those comprehension quizzes you might have had in school.  They give you some practice questions and a mock test: all of which are worth doing.

Next: Part 3 – No idea what happens next.  I’ll let you know if I get that far.

NB/ I can only comment on the 2012 procedures which may or may not change next year.

*Yes, I could have used the word “verbose”.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #BBC #Journalism #Trainee #Recruitment: What Happens – Part 1 & 2 of ? #jobs

  1. Pingback: #BBC #Journalism #Trainee #Recruitment: What Happens – Part 2 of 2 #jobs | Boldly Voyaging the Multiverse!

  2. Sandeep says:

    If I get any further then I’ll be sure to help provide information to update this section matey! Seems unlikely as they are only inviting 60 back out of 2000+

    Like

  3. Sandeep says:

    Sorry to hear about that. They said they will update all candidates by the end of this week. Just out of curiosity can I ask what ideas you suggested to improve an ‘untapped audience’ and what did you suggest to the editors for the news clip during the olympics.

    Like

  4. Sandeep says:

    Hey buddy,

    I got the same email starting:

    Thank You for your application to the blah blah blah and knew what was coming as everyone on Twitter was expressing their sadness.

    What kind of roles are you applying for at the moment?

    Sandeep

    Like

    • Roy says:

      Sorry to hear that. I’m trying for any jobs at all within my skillset, though, of course, with a bias towards journalism. I’m not sure what to suggest because the field is so competitive. Try with the smaller media companies I suppose and/or see if you can network with those already in the industry. Easier said than done, I know, but good luck anyway.

      Like

Hey, you! Say something!

