Yo, Ho, Ho and a Bottle of Venusian Rum: Summer Boat Restoration Project Part 2

Remember the boat that I bought at scrap value from eBay recently? Here it is  again-

Today I decided to attempt a first cleaning.  One of my neighbours generously helped create a little space around the boat (which is parked under some trees)  with a hedge-trimmer and chainsaw.  Next I swept out the cockpit-

…and opened the companionway hatch to the cabin and found-

Aaargh.  Fearing that I would contract some hideous face-eating fungus, I tried holding my breath while clearing out the cabin.  (That big dark hatch thingy, above the centre-plate, in the middle of the photograph is a posh looking, fully functional toilet!  None of that “porta-potty” crap here.  Pardon the pun).

Turned out that there was also quite a bit of equipment in the cabin.  I washed the fitted cushions (a bit split, perhaps salvageable) and let them dry in the sun before sticking everything in the garage-

Found what looks to be a complete set of rigging, sails and some other equipment (though no anchor or outboard yet).  The only thing seriously buggered is the mast-step which was destroyed in that UK hurricane in the 1980s.  That same hurricane also cracked the bottom of the mast.  I’m guessing I’ll have to find some mast-step similar in shape and then cut the broken end of the mast to fit.

Some other bits need replacing, like the companionway hatches (and possibly the frame/slider thing for it too)-

…which is completely rotted, though that looks an easy enough job.  But the port-side rubbing strip, looks difficult.  For a start it looks like a single piece of well-seasoned Burma-teak.  It would be a pity to replace the whole thing because a two foot section was rotten-

Also the cockpit drains are blocked-

I tried brushing and washing the crud out, poking around them with a stick, picking at them with my fingers, staring angrily at them, but to no avail.  Still, I also have to deal with a partially flooded cabin and aft-lockers.

What else?  I did have a go at cleaning the exterior-

But I actually just made the boat dirter!

(P.S.  That’s our lovely car- a 2.4 litre auto PT Cruiser (Pacific Coast Highway Edition) in the fore-ground.  Yes, it’s no beamer or Jag, but it was cheap!  Reminds me of my recent life in Vancouver and also an ill-fated US road-trip years ago).

Next week the hose-pipe ban is lifted here and I should be able to borrow my neighbour’s  power-washer (he’s a keen motor-caravaner).

That was it for the day, I just hung some old rope and a chair on the hitch to prevent any near-sighted idiots (like myself) from running into the damn thing-

Any suggestions for names?  I thought perhaps calling it the Eon Hawk (instead of Millennial Falcon), given my Star Wars obsession, but perhaps that’s a little on-the-nose.  Please don’t suggest the Titanic.

You can read part one of this saga here.  Stay tuned for updates.

This entry was posted in News, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yo, Ho, Ho and a Bottle of Venusian Rum: Summer Boat Restoration Project Part 2

  1. Pingback: Good Morning Horley! Intravenous Coffee, Juice and Tai Chi Later | Boldly Voyaging the Multiverse!

  2. You certainly have your work cut out for you. However, if you feel you need some marine repair supplies, please feel free to give us a call at 305-852-9298. Yours truly, Tiki Water Sports, Key Largo, Florida http://www.tikiwatersports.net You can also follow us on our blog at http://www.tikiwatersportsblog.wordpress.com.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Off To Buy Boat Bits | Boldly Voyaging the Multiverse!

  4. Tony Mc Carthy says:

    I had a Nimrod back in the 90’s for 7 or 8 years. Had great fun with it. Sailed it from Dublin to West Cork over a summer (at weekends). Even rounded the Fastnet Rock in her. Best of luck with her.
    Tony Mc

    Like

    • Roy says:

      I only just managed to clean it last weekend- 20 years worth of vegetation and bugs. Now I can get into the cabin without contracting something nasty. Also managed to get one of the cockpit drains free of crud. Thanks for reading. Fair winds!

      Like

Hey, you! Say something!

